PM Barrow Appoints the New Cabinet of Belize

The Prime Minister of Belize, the Rt. Hon. Dean O. Barrow, has announced the members of his cabinet.
Eleven of the seventeen elected parliamentarians from the ruling United Democratic Party were appointed as ministers while the remaining six were appointed as ministers of state in various ministries.
Four senators were appointed as ministers through the senate. The Speaker of the House is Attorney Michael Peyrefitte while the cabinet secretary is Carlos Perdomo.
The cabinet members are as follows:
  • Prime Minister, Minister of Finance and Economic Development – Rt. Hon Dean Oliver Barrow
  • Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Natural Resources and Agriculture– Hon Gaspar Vega (CEO – Beverly Castillo)
  • Ministry of Trade Investment, Private Sector Development and Consumer Protection – Hon Erwin Raphael Contreras (CEO – Sharman Hyde)
  • Attorney General and Ministry of Foreign Affairs – Hon Wilfred ‘Sedi” Elrington (CEO – Alexis Rosado)
  • Ministry of National Security – Hon John Saldivar (CEO – Col. George Lovell)
  • Ministry of Housing and Urban Development – Hon Michael Finnegan (CEO – Lawrence Sylvester)
  • Ministry of Works and Transport – Hon. Rene Montero (CEO – Carlston Goff)
  • Ministry of Tourism and Culture – Hon. Manuel Heredia Jr. (CEO – Lindsay Garbutt)
  • Ministry of Health – Hon. Pablo Marin (CEO – Dr. Peter Allen)
  • Ministry of Human Development, Social Transformation and Poverty Alleviation – Anthony “Boots” Martinez (CEO – Judith Alpuche)
  • Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports – Hon. Patrick Faber (CEO – David Leacock)
  • Ministry of Forestry, Fisheries, Sustainable Development and Indigenous People – Hon. Senator Liselle Alamilla (CEO – Dr. Wendel Parham)
  • Ministry of Energy, Science and Technology and Public Utilities – Hon. Senator Joy Grant (CEO – Dr. Colin Young)
  • Ministry of Labour, Local Government, Rural Development and NEMO– Hon. Senator Godwin Hulse (CEO – Candy Saldivar)
  • Ministry of Public Service and Elections and Boundaries – Hon. Senator Charles Gibson (CEO – Marion McNab)

Ministers of State

  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development (with special emphasis on Economic Development) – Hon. Santiago Castillo
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Natural Resources and Agriculture (with special emphasis on Agriculture – Hon. Hugo Patt
  • Ministry of State of in the Ministry of National Security ((with special emphasis on Immigration and Border Protection & Immigration Department) – Hon. Elvin Penner
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Works and Transport (with special emphasis on Transport) – Hon. Edmond Castro
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Human Development, Social Transformation and Poverty Alleviation (with special emphasis on the Conscious Youth Development Programme and the Gang Truce Programme) – Hon. Mark King
  • Minister of State in the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports (with special emphasis on Youth and Sports) – Hon. Herman Longsworth

Other GOB appointed Senators

  • Senator Mark Pech
  • Senator Juliet Thimbrel

Source:  Village View Post


Other articlesgo to homepage

Marion Jones Sporting Complex Almost Complete

Marion Jones Sporting Complex Almost CompleteComments Off

The Marion Jones Sporting Complex has been in the works for over 5 years, since August 2009. Although the sporting complex has been put off multiple times, a soft launch was done yesterday on March 25, 2015. To date, the costs to complete the complex thus far has been a little under $16 million with

Belize Fuel Prices Rise Unexpectedly

Belize Fuel Prices Rise UnexpectedlyComments Off

After starting the week with a shortage of fuel in the country, the awaited fuel shipment finally arrive yesterday. Unfortunately this shipment didn’t only bring more fuel, it also brought increased prices for Belizeans at the pump. Gas prices increased by a whopping dollar and fifteen cents per gallon for regular fuel taking prices to

New Rangers for Chiquibul Patrols

New Rangers for Chiquibul PatrolsComments Off

Friends for Conservation and Development (FCD) have been co-managing and protecting the Chiquibul National Park for years. FCD protects the national park against the incursion of Guatemalans who illegally enter Belize to cut timber, harvest xate, pan for gold, or even cultivate farms on our Belizean land. Although FCD does so much for Belize, they

Ambergris Caye Politicians Receive Death Threats

Ambergris Caye Politicians Receive Death ThreatsComments Off

Lately there has been a lot of negative news coming from the island of Ambergris Caye. Although the island officials were working on increasing police presence on the island, today, it was reported that the Mayor, Mr. Daniel Guerrero, and Area Representative/Minister of Tourism, Hon. Manuel Heredia Jr., received death threats. These reports of threats

Ambassador Mendez is New OAS Deputy Secretary General

Ambassador Mendez is New OAS Deputy Secretary GeneralComments Off

Ambassador H.E. Nestor Mendez is the new Deputy Secretary General for the Organization of American States. The post of Deputy Secretary General is one of only two elected posts within the OAS. Ambassador Mendez is the first Belizean to seek such high office. He was running against the Guyanese Ambassador  Bayney Karran. Ambassador Mendez is

read more


past results
past results


Drawing Date:
Saturday 28th March 2015

32 36 8 5 34   U

Jackpot: $174,000

View Past Results

Contacts and information

If you prefer personal customer service, call today! We will help your business grow & assist you in determining the right advertisement avenues to fit your budget & needs. Note: For queries regarding the Boledo, Fantasy 5 and Lottery drawings, please contact Brads Gaming Company at +501-223-1219.

Opening Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Social networks

Most popular categories

Global Marketing
2015 MyBelize.Net Company Limited. All rights reserved.